top of page


Antarctica is Earth's southernmost continent, approximately twice the size of Australia. About 98% of Antarctica is covered by ice that averages 1.9 km in thickness. Twelve countries signed the Antarctic Treaty in 1959, and thirty-eight have signed it since then. The treaty prohibits military activities and mineral mining, nuclear explosions and nuclear waste disposal, supports scientific research, and protects the continent's ecosystem.

bottom of page